Win or lose this election, the struggles goes on – post election statement

Win or lose this election, the struggles goes on.

Voting in the ULU elections has now closed. I don’t feel able to predict the outcome of the Vice President election, but there are a few things I want to say now.

Firstly, I want to thank the many, many people who have helped with my campaign – including large numbers of students, activists and SU officers at universities across London

. Some of these activists and students disagree with me on some issues, but backed the campaign because they thought it represented the most serious attempt going to develop ULU as a central part of a fighting student movement.

Secondly, I am proud of the fact we ran a clean campaign. In the face of ludicrous, hurtful accusations from some that I (along with my political organisation Workers’ Liberty) am racist, Islamophobic, anti-Palestinian and who knows what else, we kept the moral high ground, kept to genuine political issues and debated them rationally and calmly. Challenging the idea that disagreements in politics should be dealt with through smears and slander is an achievement in itself.

Lastly, whatever the result of the election, the struggle of which it was part goes on. I hope it is obvious that I did not stand to tickle my ego or gloss my CV, but to help build the struggle to which I have committed my life – the struggle not only against cuts, but against all forms of exploitation and oppression, and against the economic and social system of which they are part. Whatever the outcome, I will continue to fight to build the militant student movement and militant labour movement necessary to fundamentally change society.

However you voted, I hope you will join me in that task.

Leave a Reply

